International Studies Abroad ®est. 1987


Joint Security Area/DMZ

Location: South Korea


The Joint Security Area is a section of the Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) between North and South Korea. The DMZ is occupied by the North Korean military in the north and South Korean and U.S. military forces in the south. The JSA is where the Korean Armistice Agreement was signed by the United Nations and North Korea/China in 1953, which established the DMZ. From 1953 to 1976, both North Koreans and South Koreans could move throughout the JSA. Since 1976, the Military Demarcation Line has been enforced, meaning that South Koreans must stay south of the border between the countries, and North Koreans must stay north of the line.

There are over 100,000 tourists to the JSA every year, although neither South nor North Koreans are allowed in the area. All tourists are required to pass through several security checkpoints, and must undergo a briefing before entering the JSA. This excursion will also include a visit to one of the incursion tunnels leading into South Korea, which was dug by North Koreans under the DMZ.

Available in the following sessions